Dear anonymous guest.

Hi.

On Sunday November 18th, 2012, you attended the Transgender Day of Remembrance ceremony commemorated in Calgary, Alberta.  Thank you.

You also left a small tribute.  I wanted to let you know that we’ll make it a permanent part of our display for you.  It’s a small thing, but hopefully it will help let everyone know (as I suspect you wanted) that Gracie Detzer was not just a name on a list, but someone who is remembered and cherished.

Ours is a grassroots effort and we try to do that, but we don’t always succeed.  Oftentimes, things just get too emotionally overwhelming to be able to do everyone justice.

I lived in Edmonton when she was strangled and drowned in a bathtub.  I was still struggling with my own issues at that time, so I didn’t follow what happened well enough.  More importantly, I didn’t have the privilege of knowing her as a person, rather than simply someone who was trans.  I don’t even know for certain how she preferred to be referred.

And our community has been pretty transient over the years, so a lot of that knowledge and familiarity gets lost and forgotten.  This is not a good thing.

We’ve grown as a community, though.  And we’d love to better preserve her memory, if you’re wanting to do so.  Let me know if you’d like to talk about her, and if you’d like to discuss doing something more enduring in her memory.

Leave a comment